With more than 2,000 clinicians certified in more than 80 medical specialties and subspecialties, UT Physicians provides multi-specialty care for the entire family. UT Physicians helps patients needing urgent, highly specialized or complex care and also provides high-quality, wellness-oriented primary care for routine illnesses and maintenance of good health.

Affiliated with the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth), UT Physicians health care providers are internationally recognized for leading-edge medical research and treatment. Many are among the Woodward-White “Best Doctors in America.” UT Physicians and McGovern Medical School are national leaders in research, education and clinical excellence.

UT Physicians is committed to providing the best that medicine has to offer with quality care that incorporates the latest medical treatments and innovations and the most up-to-date technology. This commitment is supported by a team of expert physicians that can consult with you on virtually every type of medical condition and a philosophy that prevention and education are essential to overall wellness.

As full-time faculty at McGovern Medical School, our physicians serve as role models to medical residents and students in addition to being involved in teaching and research activities. Resident physicians are doctors who have completed medical school are continuing their three- to four-year specialty training. All of our residents are personally supervised by a faculty physician who reviews each case. Medical students also work in the clinic. If you are being seen by a medical student, you also will be seen by a faculty physician. If you are being seen by a resident, a faculty physician is always available and familiar with your case. By involving both the residents and medical students in patient care, you can be assured that your health needs are thoroughly reviewed and are used to teach the next generation of physicians.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth)

Established in 1972 by The University of Texas System Board of Regents, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) is Houston’s Health University and Texas’ resource for health care education, innovation, scientific discovery and excellence in patient care. The most comprehensive academic health center in the UT System and the U.S. Gulf Coast region, UTHealth is also home to schools of biomedical informatics, biomedical sciences, dentistry, nursing and public health. UTHealth includes The University of Texas Harris County Psychiatric Center.

Hospital Affiliations

Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, a partner in the Memorial Hermann Healthcare System, is the primary teaching hospital of McGovern Medical School in the Texas Medical Center (TMC). The hospital serves as the center of inpatient clinical activity for the medical school’s full-time faculty who work closely with part-time faculty and volunteer physicians.

The Lyndon B. Johnson (LBJ) General Hospital, owned and operated by the Harris County Hospital District, is the second primary teaching facility for McGovern Medical School. Health care services for the hospital district are provided by Affiliated Medical Services, a nonprofit organization composed of McGovern Medical School and Baylor College of Medicine faculty, which staff LBJ and Ben Taub General Hospital, respectively.

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center – Created in 1941 as a component of The University of Texas System and one of the nation’s three comprehensive cancer centers, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center was ranked as the top hospital in the nation for cancer care by U.S. News & World Report. McGovern Medical School’s Department of Dermatology is a joint department with MD Anderson Cancer Center, and our physicians, residents, students, and faculty work closely in the pursuit of education, research, and improving patient care.

TIRR Memorial Hermann – Recognized for 20 years as one of America’s “Best Rehabilitation Hospitals,” TIRR was ranked #3 in 2014 by U.S. News & World Report. TIRR treats patients with a range of disabilities from complex conditions like brain injury, stroke, spinal cord injury, multiple trauma and amputation, to rehabilitation to conditions including multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, post-polio syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis and lupus. McGovern Medical School’s Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is closely aligned with TIRR.

Leadership Team

  • Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, President, UTHealth; CEO and Board Chairman, UT Physicians
  • Andrew Casas, Senior Vice President of UTHealth; Chief Operating Officer, UT Physicians
  • Cynthia Huehlefeld, Executive Director of Business Operations and Chief Business Officer, UT Physicians
  • Kevin Dillon, Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, UTHealth; Treasurer, UT Physicians
  • Saeed Chaudhry, Vice President of Operations, UT Physicians

UT Physicians Board of Directors

UT Physicians Locations – Map Downloads

Find your physician today

To schedule an appointment or speak to a patient service representative, please call 888-4UT-DOCS (888-488-3627). You can also request an appointment online.